Musick’s Monument

Golden Age English consort music of Lawes, Coprario, Jenkins and contemporaries

At one point in his magnificent and voluminous treatise Musick’s Monument (1679), Thomas Mace pays tribute to the great consort composers of the early 17th century, and provides us with a list of his very favourites. It was a long-standing idea of our late colleague Richard Campbell to devise a programme based on this exemplary list, and we have done so as a tribute to him. It was with this programme that we made our Carnegie Hall debut in 2012, a review of which can be found here.

“The authors of such like compositions, have been divers famous English men, and Italians; some of which for their very great eminency and worth in that particular faculty, I will here name, viz. Mr Alfonso Ferabosco, Mr John Ward, Mr Lupo, Mr White, Mr Richard Deering, Mr William Lawes, Mr. John Jenkins, Mr Christopher Simpson, Mr Coperario and one Monteverdi, a famous Italian author.”  —Thomas Mace


William Lawes     Consort set in 5 parts in F major

Richard Deering     Fantazy for 5 viols
John Ward     Fantazy No. 1 Dolce languir
William White     Fantasy for 5 viols No. 3

John Jenkins     Four-part aires

John Coprario     Fantazia for 5 viols Illicita Cosa


Claudio Monteverdi     Dolcemente dormiva la mia Clori
John Ward     In Nomine in 5 parts

Christopher Simpson     Four-part aires

Alfonso Ferrabosco II     Hexachord Fantasy in 4 parts
Thomas Lupo     Pavan in 3 parts

William Lawes     Consort set in 5 parts in C major

Once of Mace’s more eccentric ideas was the invention of this instrument, the dyphone, a combination of a lute and a theorbo.